Assemblyman to Run for Senate Seat

On Thursday, Assemblyman Jim Tedisco (R –Glenville) announced that he will be a candidate for the 49th New York State Senate District seat this fall. Last week, Senator Hugh Farley (R-Schenectady) announced that he will not seek re-election this year.

Tedisco has served in the Assembly since 1982; he served as Assembly Minority Leader from 2005 to 2009, when he stepped down to run for Congress.

Assemblymember Will Not Run for Re-Election

On Tuesday, first-term Assemblymember Angela Wozniak (C-Cheektowaga) said that she will not seek second term in the Assembly. Her decision follows revelations that she engaged in an extramarital affair with a staff member, for which she was punished by the Assembly Ethics Committee.

The 143rd Assembly District includes the towns of Cheektowaga and Depew.

North Country Assemblywoman to Retire

Assemblywoman Janet Duprey (R- Peru) announced this week that she will not run for re-election. The 115th Assembly District includes Clinton and Franklin counties and four towns in St. Lawrence County.

We are sad to see Ms. Duprey leave office. She was a consistent and strong voice for lower taxes, less regulation and fewer state-imposed mandates, and a champion for the North Country’s economic potential. We wish her the best in her future endeavors.

Buffalo Assemblyman Will Not Run for Senate Seat

Assemblyman Sean Ryan (D-Buffalo) said this week that he will not run for 60th Senate District seat, where the Democratic incumbent is not running for re-election.   Ryan was viewed as the strongest possible Democratic candidate for the seat. Erie County Clerk Christopher Jacobs is running on the Republican side.