Governor Calls Special Elections for April 19, Endorses Democrat in Race

Gov. Cuomo has officially set April 19th as the date for special elections to fill one Senate vacancy and three Assembly vacancies.

The 9th Senate District (Nassau County) was previously held by Republican Dean Skelos.  The 59th Assembly District (Brooklyn) was held by Democrat Roxanne Persaud; the 62nd AD (Staten Island) by Republican Joe Borelli; and the 65th AD (Manhattan) by Democrat Sheldon Silver.

In the key 9th SD race, Gov. Cuomo endorsed Democratic Assemblyman Todd Kaminsky in the race for the 9th Senate District.  Kaminsky faces Republican Christopher McGrath in the race. In a statement, the Governor said:

“Todd Kaminsky believes in restoring the promise of economic opportunity for all by raising the minimum wage to $15, and he is fighting every day to support Long Island’s working class families. He knows we need to keep working to make living in New York more affordable by enacting real property tax relief and voting to uphold the property tax cap.”

Republicans currently hold 31 of the Senate’s 63 seats, and maintain their majority because they are supported by Democrat Simcha Felder of Brooklyn.  Democrats see a Kaminsky win in this race as the first step toward gaining control of the Senate in the November 2016 elections.

The 9th Senate District includes the Nassau County communities of Long Beach, Cedarhurst, Island Park, Lawrence, Lynbrook, Malverne, Rockville Centre and Valley Stream.

Sen. Nozzolio Will Not Run for Re-Election

State Senator Michael Nozzolio (R – Seneca County) announced this week that he will not seek re-election in November, citing the need to have heart surgery.  Nozzolio has represented the 54th Senate District since 1993; he served in the Assembly before that.

Potential candidates who are reportedly considering running for the seat include Assemblyman Bob Oaks (R- Wayne County) and Victor Supervisor Jack Marren.

The 54th SD includes 54th district includes Seneca and Wayne counties, and parts of Ontario, Cayuga, Tompkins and Monroe counties.