With Senator John DeFrancisco (R-Syracuse) assuming the position of Deputy Majority Leader of the Senate, Senator Flanagan has appointed Senator Catherine Young (R-Olean) to serve as Chair of the Senate’s Finance Committee.

Senator Young has been a great friend of taxpayers and employers. We congratulate her on her new position, and look forward to working with her in her new capacity.

Other Senate committee changes include:

  • Senator Betty Little (R-Queensbury) as Chair of the Senate Housing Committee;
  • Senator Fred Akshar (R- Broome County) as Chair of the Senate Elections Committee;
  • Senator Rich Funke (R-Fairport ) as Chair of the Senate Cultural Affairs and Tourism Committee; and
  • Senator Patty Ritchie (R-St. Lawrence) as Chair of Rural Resources Commission.