On Thursday, Gov. Cuomo announced that New York has joined with seven others states (California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Vermont) to implement a plan to have 3.3 million zero-emission vehicles (ZEVs) on U.S. roads by 2025.

The Multi-State ZEV Action Plan establishes a number of goals to promote zero-emission vehicle use, including:

  • building a ZEV market by planning and investing in critical infrastructure like fueling stations;
  • encouraging private fleets to acquire ZEVs;
  • increasing the number of ZEVs used by government agencies;
  • setting uniform rules among states to remove barriers to installing charging stations;
  • developing a better ZEV experience and promoting consumer use by supporting workplace charging stations;
  • providing consumer incentives for ZEV purchases;
  • removing barriers to retail sale of electricity as vehicle fuel; and
  • promoting access and compatibility for charging networks.

Gov. Cuomo said:

“New York is committed to putting clean vehicles on the road to reduce harmful emissions and build a vibrant clean energy economy.  The coalition of states participating in the multi-state ZEV Action Plan is vital to creating the infrastructure needed for our nation to achieve energy diversity, reduce pollution and create jobs. New York has been a leader in taking action to cut harmful air emissions and combat climate change through programs like Charge NY and will continue to work with public and private partners to ensure a cleaner, greener, and safe state for future generations.”