In the wake of Senator Avella’s move to the IDC, on Thursday, the Senate Majority Coalition announced some new committee chairmanships.


Senator Joe Robach (R-Monroe County) will take over the leadership of the Senate Transportation Committee, which became vacant when Senator Charles Fuschillo resigned at the end of 2013.


Senator Tony Avella (IDC-Queens) will chair the Senate Social Services Committee. He will also serve as the vice-chair of the Senate Environmental Conservation Committee.


Senator David Valesky (IDC-Madison County) will chair the Senate Aging Committee.


Senator Carl Marcellino (R-Nassau County) will replace Robach as the chair of the Committee on Infrastructure. He will also serve as vice-chair of the Senate Transportation Committee.