Last week, we finally learned who will be in charge of the State Senate next year, as the Senate Republicans and the Senate’s Independent Democratic Conference (IDC) announced a power-sharing agreement.

Rather than being led by a single majority leader, the position of Temporary President of the Senate will be held alternately on a bi-weekly basis by Republican Leader Dean Skelos and Independent Democratic Conference Leader Jeff Klein.  The two will have “joint and equal authority” over legislation, appointments, and budget negotiations.  Further this should be better news for Upstate New York.  The Central New York region will have another member in the majority with Senator David Valesky.

While not perfect and far from typical, we are pleased that there is certainty as to who is in charge in the Senate.  No one wants a return to 2009, when things seemed to shift on a weekly, daily and sometimes even hourly basis.