Republican Wins State Senate Race

The Senate’s Majority Republican Conference will grow by one member next week, as Republican David Storobin has emerged as the winner of the March 20 special election by (unofficially) 16 votes.  Democratic New York City Councilman Lew Fidler conceded the race this week after more than two months of acrimonious vote counting.

The Senate Republicans now hold a 33-29 majority in that body.

The election was held to replace former Democratic Sen. Carl Kruger, who resigned in the wake of a corruption scandal and has been sentenced to seven years in prison. 

While this victory was a something of a surprise for the Senate Republicans, Sen. Storobin’s tenure may be a short one. The overwhelmingly Democratic Senate district will disappear in January as a result of the once a decade redistricting process.

The New York City Board of Elections is expected to certify the election results when it meets on Tuesday, but Storobin may be seated in the Senate sooner as Fidler has conceded.

Kevin Smardz Will Not Run Again

On Thursday, Assemblyman Kevin Smardz (R-Hamburg) announced that he will not seek re-election. Smardz, who was first elected to the Assembly in 2010, cited personal reasons for his decision.

Assemblyman Smardz’s voting record was a good one for the employers, taxpayers and job creators of Western New York.  We wish him well, and hope that his successor has similar priorities.

His departure from the race leaves three Republican contenders — former East Aurora Mayor David DiPietro; businessman Chris Lane of East Aurora; and businessman and Newstead Deputy Supervisor David Mariacher.