New York Works Task Force Appointed

On Thursday, Gov. Cuomo, Senate Majority Leader Skelos and Assembly Speaker Silver announced the 13-member New York Works Task Force to oversee the state’s infrastructure projects.  The panel will be co-chaired by Felix Rohatyn, a New York City investment banker and Denis Hughes, the former president of the state AFL-CIO.

The New York Works Task Force was established in the 2012-13 state budget as a means to streamline and coordinate how 45 agencies spend more than $16 billion on capital expenditures.   The goal is to have a comprehensive strategic plan that maximizes the investment of taxpayer dollars.

Gov. Cuomo said:

“The NY Works Task Force brings together an all-star team to help us coordinate and accelerate billions of dollars in capital investment to rebuild the foundation of the state’s economy our state’s infrastructure and create thousands of private sector jobs….The Task Force will help enable and accelerate major projects across the state with government working as a partner instead of a barrier to business growth and job creation.”

The other task force members are:

– Byron Brown, Mayor of Buffalo

–   Michael Fishman, president, SEIU Local 32BJ

–   Peter Goldmark, program director for Climate and Air, Environmental Defense Fund

–   Gary LaBarbera, president, NYC Building & Construction Trades Council

–   Carol Kellermann, president, Citizens Budget Commission

–  Stephanie Miner, Mayor of Syracuse

–  Robert Yaro, president, Regional Plan Association

–   John Cameron, chair, Long Island Regional Planning Council (Senate appointee)
Robert Mujica, Senate Majority Chief of Staff/Secretary to the Senate Finance Committee (Senate appointee)

–   Assembly Majority Leader Ron Canestrari (Assembly appointee)

–   Assembly Ways & Means Chair Herman “Denny” Farrell (Assembly appointee)

Task Force member biographies can be found here.