A proposal to defer 50 percent of business tax incentives for three years remains under active discussion by the Governor and legislative leaders this week. Simply stated, this would amount to little more than the government borrowing from NY businesses (you!) to pay for excessive spending that lawmakers are unwilling to trim.

If you currently benefit from any of the following programs, 50% of your incentives will be deferred for three years if this measure is approved:

  • Empire Zone
  • Investment Tax Credits
  • Brownfield Tax Credits
  • Historic Rehab Tax Credits
  • CAPCO incentives
  • Power for Jobs
  • … and any other business tax incentives

New York State made commitments to you to provide incentives that it is now proposing to take away. You’ve relied on these incentives to make investment decisions and have factored those incentives into financial plans. It is irresponsible of our representatives to carry this through at your expense – without even mentioning the message New York will send to the economic development world: that NY is closed for business.

It is imperative that the Upstate business community raise its voice loudly and immediately! At the same time Albany wants to devastate Upstate’s economic development programs, they plan to increase incentives for the NYC film industry! Since Unshackle Upstate was created, it’s difficult to find a more obvious Upstate/Downstate division.

Typically, we would try to engage you in a VoterVoice e-mail campaign, but the issue is before us right now. There’s no time to lose. Here are the legislators who need to hear from you TODAY:


Honorable John L. Sampson
Phone: (518) 455-2788, Fax: (518) 426-6806
E-mail: sampson@senate.state.ny.us

Honorable William T. Stachowski
Phone: (518) 455-2426, Fax: (518) 426-6851
E-mail: stachows@senate.state.ny.us

Honorable David J. Valesky
Phone: (518) 455-2838, Fax: (518) 426-6885
E-mail: valesky@senate.state.ny.us

Honorable Darrel J. Aubertine
Phone: (518) 455-2761, Fax: n/a
E-mail: aubertin@senate.state.ny.us

Honorable Brian X. Foley
Phone: (518) 455-2303, Fax: (518) 426-6825
E-mail: bfoley@senate.state.ny.us

Honorable Carl Kruger
Phone: (518) 455-2460, Fax: (518) 426-6855
E-mail: kruger@senate.state.ny.us


Honorable Sheldon Silver
Phone: (518) 455-3791, Fax: (518) 455-5459
E-mail: speaker@assembly.state.ny.us

Honorable Herman D. Farrell Jr.
Phone: (518) 455-5491, Fax: (518) 455-5776
E-mail: farrelh@assembly.state.ny.us

Honorable Robin L. Schimminger
Phone: (518) 455-4767, Fax: (518) 455-4724
E-mail: schimmr@assembly.state.ny.us

Honorable Joseph D. Morelle
Phone: (518) 455-5373, Fax: (518) 455-5647
E-mail: morellj@assembly.state.ny.us